Boduf Songs Announces This Alone Above All Else in Spite of Everything

Boduf Songs Announces <i>This Alone Above All Else in Spite of Everything</i>
Boduf Songs' music has previously been described as "acoustic death metal," a description that has held true over the course of several bleak-as-hell albums. Now, songwriter Mathew Sweet is getting ready to release his latest album under the Boduf Songs moniker, This Alone Above All Else in Spite of Everything, due out September 6 via Kranky.

Just by looking at the tracklist (below), it's obvious that the album will be another gloomy release from Boduf Songs. Song titles include "Decapitation Blues," "Absolutely Null and Utterly Void" and "I Am Going Away and I Am Never Coming Back." A press release reveals that the album is a concept record, but doesn't explain what the concept actually is. According to Sweet, "There is a theme that runs through each song and the track order is paramount to that - it's a hugely important part of making a record work."

The album was created using Sweet's typically minimal setup, but "it comes with a few surprises - most notably the prominence of electric guitar, bass and stomping drums on a few tracks." The albums eight songs also feature gentle acoustic strumming, mournful pianos and unsettling electronics.

There's no single currently available. In the meantime, try to decipher the tiny lyrics on the album cover (above) and start placing bets about that mystery concept.

This Alone Above All Else in Spite of Everything:

1. "Bought Myself a Cat o'Nine"
2. "Decapitation Blues"
3. "Absolutely Null and Utterly Void"
4. "I Have Decided to Pass Through Matter"
5. "Green They Were, and Golden Eyed"
6. "We Get on Slowly"
7. "The Giant Umbilical Cord That Connects Your Brain to the Centre of the Universe"
8. "I Am Going Away and I Am Never Coming Back"