Black Keys Get Apology From MTV over VMA Misprint, Drop New iTunes Session

Black Keys Get Apology From MTV over VMA Misprint, Drop New iTunes Session
Last week was a funny one for Ohio blues rockers the Black Keys, as they both announced a gimmicky Halloween get-up and were sent an incorrectly labelled MTV VMA award for their breakthrough video “Tighten Up.” As we reported, the statuette featured an unfortunate typo, crediting the clip to pop rappers the Black Eyed Peas. While the Black Keys shrugged it off on their Facebook page, captioning a picture of the award with "We are super proud of fergie!!!," it looks like an embarrassed MTV isn’t laughing about the matter, which explains its apology to the group.

MTV News points to a press release that explains the unfortunate mix-up.

It reads: "MTV sincerely regrets the clerical error that resulted in the Black Keys receiving the wrong VMA awards. We are happy to report new trophies reflecting the Black Keys' win are currently in development and they should receive them shortly. Lastly, we thank the Black Keys for their considerable patience and understanding regarding this matter."

Turning the other cheek, the Black Keys are forgetting about last week’s weirdness and focusing on what matters most: the rock. Today marks the release of a ten-song iTunes session the group recorded recently. While, naturally, the bulk of the material comes from the band’s latest long-player Brothers, the Keys do drop “Chop & Change” from the Eclipse soundtrack and deliver a down and dirty version of early number “I’ll Be Your Man,” off 2002’s The Big Come Up.

The Black Keys’ iTunes Sessionis available now. Check out the full track listing below.

iTunes Session:

1. “Chop and Change”

2. “Everlasting Light”

3. “Howlin' for You”

4. “I'll Be Your Man”

5. “Next Girl”

6. “She's Long Gone”

7. “Sinister Kid”

8. “Tighten Up”

9. “Too Afraid to Love You”

10. “Your Touch”