Beck, Elvis Costello, M. Ward to Contribute Unreleased Songs to Second True Blood Soundtrack

Beck, Elvis Costello, M. Ward to Contribute Unreleased Songs to Second <i>True Blood</i> Soundtrack
Who said any music that had anything to do with vampires had to be cheesy goth rock for teenagers? Well, history did, but here's the exception: the second soundtrack to HBO's True Blood series is going to drop on May 25 - the same day season two comes out on DVD - and it's actually looking pretty respectable for a show that involves fangs.

The soundtrack features new tunes from Beck ("Bad Blood"), Lucinda Williams and Elvis Costello ("Kiss Like Your Kiss"), Robbie Robertson ("How to Become Clairvoyant") and two new Howlin' Wolf covers: "Howlin' for My Baby" by M. Ward, and Jace Everett and CC Adcock tackling "Evil (Is Going On)."

The previously released material on the soundtrack, which is coming out on Elektra Records, is nothing to scoff at either, containing tracks from both Jakob and Bob Dylan, Thievery Corporation, the 13th Floor Elevators, Eels and more. A full tracklisting is below.

For more on True Blood, check out the website for Bon Temps, the fictional town the show is set in.

True Blood: Music from the HBO Original Series Volume II:

1. M. Ward: "Howlin' for My Baby"

2. Jace Everett and CC Adcock: "Evil (Is Going On)"

3. Beck: "Bad Blood"

4. Robbie Robertson: "How to Become Clairvoyant"

5. Jr. Walker and The All Stars: "Shake and Fingerpop"

6. Screamin' Jay Hawkins: "Frenzy"

7. Lucinda Williams and Elvis Costello: "Kiss like Your Kiss"

8. Buddy and Julie Miller: "Gasoline and Matches"

9. Chuck Prophet: "You Did (Bomp Shooby Dooby Bomp)"

10. The 13th Floor Elevators: "You're Gonna Miss Me"

11. Eels: "Fresh Blood"

12. Thievery Corporation: "The Forgotten People (Bon Temps Remix)"

13. King Britt and Sister Gertrude Morgan: "New World in My View"

14. Bob Dylan: "Beyond Here Lies Nothin'"

15. Jace Everett: "Bad Things (Acoustic)" *

16. Jakob Dylan: "Ain't No Invisible Man" *

17. Stone Temple Pilots: "You Can't Drive Me Away" *

18. Headbone and Bubba Kendall: "Dig" *

*Digital-only bonus track