The Beatles' Greatest Hits Comp '1' Gets Expanded Reissue with Videos

The Beatles' Greatest Hits Comp '1' Gets Expanded Reissue with Videos
The Beatles' insanely popular 2000 compilation 1 is the best-selling album of its decade, and now it's being revisited with an expanded version containing the Fab Four's music videos. This will be out on November 6 through Apple Corps/UMG.

This reissue will be available in various formats: CD and DVD/Blu-ray versions are available separately or in a combined package. These include archival videos for the 27 hits included on the initial version of 1, with the visuals being uncovered from the Beatles' vaults and carefully restored.

There's also an expanded version of the album called 1+. This comes with a CD, plus two DVDs or Blu-ray discs. The bonus disc includes 23 extra videos, including rarities and alternate versions. The new audio mixes were created by Giles Martin with Sam Okell at Abbey Road Studios.

A double-vinyl version will follow.

See the full tracklist below (bear in mind that the standard version of 1 includes just the first disc, while the second disc only comes with 1+). The first DVD and Blu-ray each run for 110 minutes, while the bonus disc runs for 95 minutes.

A trailer for the visuals can be seen at the bottom of this page. Pre-orders are available from the Beatles' website.

These promotional films were groundbreaking at the time, helping to pioneer the now-commonplace practice of making music videos. A press release points out that the Beatles made these clips to help promote their music without needing to make in-person appearances, which became particularly useful after they stopped touring in the middle of their career.

Paul McCartney said in a statement, "These videos and films are spectacular reminders of the era we lived in. They also rock!"

Ringo Starr added, "I think it's really interesting to see the videos we made, some of them incredible and some of them really incredible. How else would we have got to sit on a horse?"


Disc 1:

1. Love Me Do
2. From Me to You
3. She Loves You         
4. I Want to Hold Your Hand      
5. Can't Buy Me Love    
6. A Hard Day's Night    
7. I Feel Fine    
8. Eight Days a Week   
9. Ticket to Ride           
10. Help!          
11. Yesterday   
12. Day Tripper 
13. We Can Work It Out
14. Paperback Writer    
15. Yellow Submarine    
16. Eleanor Rigby         
17. Penny Lane
18. All You Need Is Love
19. Hello, Goodbye       
20. Lady Madonna        
21. Hey Jude    
22. Get Back    
23. The Ballad of John and Yoko
24. Something
25. Come Together        
26. Let It Be
27. The Long and Winding Road 

Disc 1 video extras:

Paul McCartney audio commentary

Penny Lane
Hello, Goodbye
Hey Jude 
Ringo Starr filmed introductions

Penny Lane 
Hello, Goodbye
Hey Jude
Get Back 

Disc 2:

1. Twist & Shout
2. Baby It's You
3. Words of Love
4. Please Please Me
5. I Feel Fine
6. Day Tripper (alternate version)
7. Day Tripper (alternate version)
8. We Can Work It Out (alternate version)
9. Paperback Writer (alternate version)
10. Rain (alternate version)
11. Rain (alternate version)
12. Strawberry Fields Forever
13. Within You Without You/Tomorrow Never Knows
14. A Day in the Life
15. Hello, Goodbye (alternate version)
16. Hello, Goodbye (alternate version)
17. Hey Bulldog
18. Hey Jude (alternate version)
19. Revolution
20. Get Back (alternate version)
21. Don't Let Me Down
22. Free as a Bird
23. Real Love

Disc 2 video extras:

Paul McCarney audio commentary
Strawberry Fields Forever