Badly Drawn Boy Returns with It's What I'm Thinking, Pt 1, Shares New Demo

Badly Drawn Boy Returns with <i>It's What I'm Thinking, Pt 1</i>, Shares New Demo
Since making a splash in 2000 with his much-loved debut, The Hour of the Bewilderbeast, alt-pop maestro Badly Drawn Boy (aka Damon Gough) has fallen upon tougher times, as his past few albums have received mixed reviews. Now, Gough is hoping for better luck with his latest album, It's What I'm Thinking, Pt 1, due out October 4 in the UK.

The record is the followup to last year's Is There Nothing We Can Do?, Badly Drawn Boy's soundtrack to the TV show The Fattest Man in Britain. That project reportedly got Gough back into a creative mindset, as he was initially hesitant to return to the studio after 2006's Born in the U.K. received poor reviews. He told Hot Press, "I was struggling with the idea of going in the studio at that point, had been for a year, not really feeling like I had it in me."

His latest sessions apparently went so well that Gough included Pt 1 in the title, suggesting that Pt 2 may be on the way sometime in the future. He told the Sunday Tribune [via TwentyFourBit], "This one is a bit more together, a bit more concise, and I've never had such a universally positive reaction from those who have heard it. As soon as I finish any project I hate it."

You can see the tracklist below, and you can download a free demo of the album opener "In Safe Hands" from Badly Drawn Boy's website.

It's What I'm Thinking, Pt 1:

1. "In Safe Hands"

2. "The Order of Things"

3. "Too Many Miracles"

4. "What Tomorrow Brings"

5. "I Saw You Walk Away"

6. "It's What I'm Thinking"

7. "You Lied"

8. "A Pure Accident"

9. "This Electric"

10. "This Beautiful Ideas"