Babies/Woods' Kevin Morby Returns with 'Still Life' LP

Babies/Woods' Kevin Morby Returns with 'Still Life' LP
Kevin Morby is known for his work with Woods and the Babies, but he's no longer a member of the former group while the latter are on hiatus. Morby, meanwhile, is keeping busy by preparing to follow up last year's solo album Harlem River. His sophomore album is called Still Life and it's due out on October 14 through Woodsist Records.

Like the last album, this latest LP was produced by Rob Barbato (Cass McCombs, Darker My Love). Another returning collaborator, Drew Fischer, handled engineering and mixing. Recording took place over a few months with spring.

Still Life was named after Maynard Monrow's art piece Still Life with the Rejects from the Land of Misfit Toys. The name is somewhat ironic, since the album was written during a busy period of touring when Morby moved from Los Angeles to New York.

A couple of the tunes feature a horn section, while some songs touch on love or death, and "Parade" is described in a press release as "an elegy of sorts for one of his [Morby's] major influences, Lou Reed." Scroll past the tracklist below to hear the Reed tribute.

Still Life:

1. The Jester, The Tramp & the Acrobat
2. The Ballad of Arlo Jones
3. Motors Running
4. All of My Life
5. Drowning
6. Bloodsucker
7. Parade
8. Dancer
9. Amen
10. Our Moon