Babe Rainbow Reveals 'Endless Path' Details

Babe Rainbow Reveals 'Endless Path' Details
It's been a while since experimental electronic artist Babe Rainbow announced his sophomore EP, Endless Path. At the time, the Vancouver, BC musician (otherwise known as Cameron Reed) told Exclaim! that the record "represents eight very different directions [he] experimented with over the last year," including rap. What he didn't tell us was when the thing would come out. Five months later, all has been revealed.

Warp has announced that the label will issue the EP on June 21. According to the press release, the collection is full of "dark atmospherics and minimalist bass excursions" while also being "strongly coloured by the myriad mixtapes and 'chopped & screwed' projects that Babe Rainbow has unveiled in the past year." The EP will be released as a six-song twelve-inch, but features two bonus tracks on the digital release.

The most rap-centric track is "Greed," which features Alabama spitter Yung Clova of G-Side dropping a guest verse. "Set Loose," however, is a "propulsive, percussion-laced odyssey that began life as a beat intended for rapper and internet phenomenon Lil B."

If you don't mind being terrified, check out the staccato horror stabs and the chilling static image of Reed's deadpan mug in a new clip for opener "It's All Happening" below. And, yep, that is the EP's cover above.

Also, Babe Rainbow has a couple shows coming up in NYC, Vancouver and Montreal. See the dates below.

Endless Path:

1. "It's All Happening"

2. "The Spill"

3. "Set Loose"

4. "Greed" (ft. Yung Clova of G-Side)

5. "Bounty"

6. "Chains"

7. "Endless Path" (digital only)

8. "Choked"  (digital only)

Tour dates:

5/12 New York, NY - 49 Grove

5/14 New York, NY - Heather's

5/21 Vancouver, BC - The Waldorf

6/4 Montreal, QC - Metropolis

Babe Rainbow - It's All Happening from Atomized Productions on Vimeo.