Autre Ne Veut Announces 'Anxiety'

Autre Ne Veut Announces 'Anxiety'
A few weeks ago, Exclaim! praised Autre Ne Veut's live show at CMJ for his misanthropic, punky performance style, but the dude born Arthur Ashin will showcase his "R&B smoothness" on wax next year with his sophomore album, Anxiety.

The record, which follows the Brooklyn-based artist's self-titled 2010 debut, arrives through Software on February 12, and was apparently inspired by years of the singer-songwriter combating depression and undergoing some intensive psychoanalysis.

While thematically, Anxiety is described as "closing a chapter on [Ashin's] adolescence through song-form depictions of his own relationship struggles and ecstasies," the personal 10-song set reportedly takes sonic cues from the likes of David Byrne, Lee "Scratch" Perry, Laurie Anderson, Annie Lennox, Katy Perry and Rihanna. 

You can find out for yourself if Autre Ne Veut hits the mark via a stream of first single "Counting," which you can check out below.


1. Play By Play
2. Counting
3. Promises
4. Ego Free Sex Free
5. A Lie
6. Warning
7. Gonna Die
8. Don't Ever Look Back
9. I Wanna Dance With Somebody
10. World War