Arab Strap's Aidan Moffat Announces New Album as L. Pierre

Arab Strap's Aidan Moffat Announces New Album as L. Pierre
Since the dissolution of Arab Strap, frontman Aidan Moffat has spent the last couple of years wrapped up in solo endeavours and collaborative projects. Now, the Scottish songwriter has resurrected his L. Pierre (formerly Lucky Pierre) moniker for a new full-length.

Entitled The Island Come True, this is the follow-up to 2007's Dip. It's due out in the UK on January 14 via Melodic. It reportedly features an array of field recordings and samples for a collage-like effect, and is named after a chapter from Peter Pan.

"There's something beautiful in hearing the grit and hiss of old recordings," Moffatt in a statement, in regards to the album's rough-hewn sound. "Everything sounds so clean and clinical and perfect today, but I love hearing something that sounds worn and suggests the music has a history. It's gorgeous and sad at once, as though it's lived a life and survived to tell the tale." Listen to the skin-crawling "Doctor Alucard" at the bottom of the page.

Pre-order a copy of the album in a variety of formats right here. Buyers will get an instant download of the album, meaning that you won't have to wait until the official release date to put it on your iPod. While you peruse the purchase options, we'll leave you with the label's description of the LP:

The album is as a dreamscape, with fragments of classical works, drum samples, instructional speeches and, in a link back to his last album, recordings of nature. Electronics elements previously employed on past albums have been discarded, the album in its entirety consisting only of these found sounds.

Thanks to FACT for the tip.

The Island Come True:

1. KAB 1340

2. Harmonic Avenger

3. Drums

4. Sad Laugh

5. Dumbum

6. The Grief That Does Not Speak

7. Now Listen!

8. Exits

9. Doctor Alucard

10. Tulpa

11. The Kingdom