Altar of Plagues' James Kelly Announces Solo Debut as WIFE

Altar of Plagues' James Kelly Announces Solo Debut as WIFE
Former Altar of Plagues member James Kelly announced last summer that he was moving on from the Irish black metal project to work as WIFE, and the musician has now let loose the details behind his first solo LP, What's Between.

Tri Angle will issue Kelly's first full-length as WIFE on June 10, with a press release noting that the LP mixes his metal inclinations with new influences for a "disorientating and splintered pop record."

The album is said to home in on textures of metal, pop and electronic music, with "industrial tones and throbbing techno beats clashing with elegiac pastoral atmospherics." The nine-song set was produced with the Haxan Cloak and Roly Porter.

The LP's title is said to reflect on "the emotional and physical space between two people," with "Heart Is a Far Light" apparently dealing with "the motives behind the lies we may feel compelled to tell." You can sample that track — a mix of four-on-the-floor kick drum, ambient synth washes and damaged vocals — down below.

Down there, you'll also find the album's tracklisting and info on an upcoming performance in Brooklyn.

What's Between:

1. Like Chrome
2. Tongue
3. Heart Is A Far Light
4. Salvage
5. Dans Ce
6. A Nature (Shards)
7. Living Joy
8. Fruit Tree
9. Further Not Better

Tour dates:

04/16 Brooklyn, NY - St Vitus