Alkaline Trio Drummer Derek Grant Unveils Debut Solo Album

Alkaline Trio Drummer Derek Grant Unveils Debut Solo Album
Longtime Alkaline Trio member Derek Grant has kept himself composed behind the drum kit for years, but he has apparently faced some tough times off stage. Channelling his frustrations over a divorce and substance abuse issues is Breakdown, a full-length effort that acts as Grant's solo debut.

A press release notes that the artist's first solo LP, due January 20 through Red Scare, was inspired by his divorce and how he coped, often poorly, in the aftermath.

  "My relationship had fallen apart and I was dealing with it in some very unhealthy ways," he explained in a press statement, adding positively, "The upside was I started writing lyrics for the first time in nearly a decade."

Grant recorded the eight-song effort onto his laptop in 2008 and 2009, with recording sessions taking place between Los Angeles, Portland, Chicago, Detroit and New York City at friends' houses and motels. Exploring Americana and '80s new wave textures, the personal set tackles themes of substance abuse ("You Don't Know"), depressions ("Love Is A Bad Dream") and more.

Though song streams from the set have yet to arrive, you'll find Breakdown's tracklisting down below and the cover art up above.

Alkaline Trio, meanwhile, have yet to announce a follow-up to 2013's My Shame Is True.


1. Holiday Breakdown
2. Waiting For The End Of The World
3. Got A Feeling
4. Turn And Walk Away
5. Lucy
6. Love Is A Bad Dream
7. Good Long Look
8. You Don't Know