Al Jourgensen Announces Debut Release as Surgical Meth Machine

Al Jourgensen Announces Debut Release as Surgical Meth Machine
While currently incapacitated industrial metal gods Ministry have come back to life before, it looks as if project leader Al Jourgensen will push forward for the moment with a new group called Surgical Meth Machine. The band have just signed a deal with Nuclear Blast, and their self-titled debut is set to land April 15.

The label confirmed the partnership today (February 1), explaining that the 12-song collection was mostly tracked at Jorgensen's Burbank, CA studio with recording engineer Sam D'Ambruoso (Ministry, Revco, Front Line Assembly).

A quick message from Jourgensen reiterates:

Hello folks, thanks to Nuclear Blast the long awaited Surgical Meth Machine album is finally coming. Now quit your bitching, go spark a fatty, and listen to the record! You won't regret it. I'm Al Jourgensen and I approve this message.

A fall 2015 interview with In the Loop [via Blabbermouth] had Jourgensen explaining that the death of Ministry guitarist Mike Scaccia in 2012 prompted him to move on from the longtime project, though the group did tour as recently as 2015.

"I found that it was really unburdensome to not have the Ministry moniker or expectations and just do something like whatever the fuck we want," he said.

While previews from the Surgical Meth Machine collection have yet to appear, Jourgensen had previously noted that the project would be in the same wheelhouse as Ministry, while also adding a touch of poppiness to the proceedings.

"I'm crooning on some songs, I've got some pop songs on there, and then there's just brutal assault for the rest of it," he said. "It's a very dichotomous record, but it's me, and I'm acknowledging everything that's been me through, like, the last 35 years. Let's just throw my balls on the table and hope somebody doesn't have a meat cleaver running."

If you're worried about pop creeping into the industrial metal master's repertoire, he added: "I mean, the band's name is Surgical Meth Machine. It's not like we're gonna be on Top 40 radio and on The Voice and American Idol."

Surgical Meth Machine:

1. I'm Sensitive
2. Tragic Alert
3. I Want More
4. Rich People Problems
5. I Don't Wanna
6. Smash And Grab
7. Unlistenable
8. Gates Of Steel
9. Spudnik
10. Just Go Home