Against Me! Get Fat Mike and Atom Willard for New Album

Against Me! Get Fat Mike and Atom Willard for New Album
Against Me! have been experiencing lineup troubles of late, most recently with the departure of longtime bass player Andrew Seward, but it looks as if a couple of high-profile ringers have been brought in to help finish the group's next LP.

Band leader Laura Jane Grace tweeted over the weekend that she and guitarist James Bowman had flown out to San Francisco to undertake a recording session with NOFX's Fat Mike and veteran punk drummer Adam "Atom" Willard (Rocket From the Crypt, Danko Jones).

She tweeted, "So for at least the next week Against Me! is gonna be myself, @jimmyjames_b , @AtomWillard and @FatMike_of_NOFX . What?!?! FUCK IM EXCITED!"

It's unclear what the band's plans are following the recording sessions, but the tweet hints that the team-up is temporary. A post from Fat Mike confirms that they've been recording at San Francisco's Motor Studios.

Furthermore, bringing Fat Mike on board makes for a reunion of sorts, as his Fat Wreck Chords issued the group's As the Eternal Cowboy and Searching for a Former Clarity LPs.

Against Me!'s structural strife began earlier this year when they were forced to pull out of a tour with Bad Religion due to the lack of a stable presence behind the drum kit. This, however, left the band to focus on the new LP, which is tentatively titled Transgender Dysphoria Blues.

Following last month's amicable split with Seward, who had played with the band since 2002, Grace explained that despite the setbacks, it was important for her to finish the album.

"I realize that at this point there's a possibility that it may look pretty ridiculous to carry on playing under the name Against Me!," she had written at the time. "If I didn't feel like I had something that I really needed to say with the album we've been working on for the past year then I'd humbly hang the hat and move on."