The Afghan Whigs Treat 'Black Love' to Vinyl Reissue

The Afghan Whigs Treat 'Black Love' to Vinyl Reissue
As previously reported, the Afghan Whigs have rejoined the Sub Pop roster to deliver their new Do to the Beast album, but ahead of that, an older record will be getting the reissue treatment on a different label. Formerly released by Sub Pop and Elektra, the band's 1996 effort Black Love is being pressed back onto wax February 17 through Music on Vinyl.

A press release notes that the 11-song set is making its way onto vinyl for the first time since its original pressing and will be housed in a gatefold sleeve, as it had in the '90s. This is a straight repress with no bonus material.

You can see the tracklist below and pre-order the Black Love reissue here.

The set has the Whigs once again exploring the realms of grunge, soul and blues, and features lyrics "filled with dark images of romantic obsession," a trademark of vocalist Greg Dulli. You can check out the album's "Honky's Ladder" in the vintage video clip down below.

As for Do to the Beast, it arrives on April 15 via Sub Pop. The record comes two years after the Cincinnati act got back together in 2012 for a series of live dates and is their first LP since 1998's 1965. Preview tracks have yet to arrive, but you can check out the tracklist info down below.

Black Love:

1. Crime Scene Part One
2. My Enemy
3. Double Day
4. Blame, Etc.
5. Step Into The Light
6. Going To Town
7. Honky's Ladder
8. Night By Candlelight
9. Bulletproof
10. Summer's Kiss
11. Faded

Do to the Beast:

1. Parked Outside
2. Matamoros
3. It Kills
4. Algiers
5. Lost In The Woods
6. The Lottery
7. Can Rova
8. Royal Cream
9. I Am Fire
10. These Sticks