Actress Details 'Ghettoville'

Actress Details 'Ghettoville'
British beatmaker Actress previously shared the tracklist to his long-hinted-at album Ghettoville via a simple screen shot of a text document, and now the producer otherwise known as Darren Cunningham has formally detailed the impending LP.

Ghettoville will arrive on January 28 via Werkdiscs/Ninja Tune, with the North American release presumably to follow the next day. That's the album cover above; the tracklist, which is the same as the one we've already seen, is below. The collection is a sequel to 2008's Hazyville and is said to "[share] a similar rugged style."

The album is available to pre-order from the label as a digital download, CD, triple-LP or deluxe box set. This box set includes a 32-page art book, triple-vinyl and CD copies of Ghettoville, as well as an exclusive double-vinyl copy of Hazyville; there's also a CD version of Hazyville.

Actress announced the album with a rather cryptic statement, which you can read below:

Ghettoville is the bleached out and black tinted conclusion of the Actress image.

Where the demands of writing caught the artist slumped and reclined, devoid of any soul, acutely aware of the simulated prism that required breakout.

Four albums in and the notes and compositions no longer contain decipherable language.

The scripts now carry tears, the world has returned to a flattened state, and out through that window, the birds look back into the cage they once inhabited.

Spitting flames behind a white wall of silence.

The machines have turned to stone, data reads like an obituary to its user.

A fix is no longer a release, it's a brittle curse. Zero satisfaction, no teeth, pseudo artists running rampant, but the path continues.

R.I.P Music 2014.


Cunningham's last Actress album was of course 2012's much-loved R.I.P.


1. Forgiven

2. Street Corp

3. Corner

4. Rims

5. Contagious

6. Birdcage

7. Our

8. Time

9. Towers

10. Gaze

11. Skyline

12. Image

13. Don't

14. Rap

15. Frontline

16. Rule

Read more about Actress' new album by clicking here.