2009 Juno Awards Nominees Announced

2009 Juno Awards Nominees Announced
The 2009 Juno Awards nominees were announced this morning at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto. Leading the way with five nods are Nickelback, with Sam Roberts in a close second with four, and Celine Dion and Hedley both tied with three a piece. But this year's nominations aren't a complete major label whitewash.

Some Exclaim! favourites weasled their way into the pool: Feist earned a JUNO Fan Choice Award nod, Kardinal is up for Single of the Year, Cancer Bats, Crystal Castles and Plants and Animals will compete for New Group of the Year, and Tokyo Police Club will have to fight hard against the suck to win Group of the Year.

Of course, there is plenty of talent to be found in the "adult" alternative, alternative and rap categories. Respected artists such as Kathleen Edwards, Ron Sexsmith and Serena Ryder were recognized for their "adultery" as alternative artists, while Black Mountain, Chad VanGaalen and - get this - Fucked Up managed to squeak in with the alternative set. Rappers such as DL Incognito, D-Sisive and of course, Kardinal Offishall were also recognized for their work.

As always with the Junos, there are plenty of questionable decisions. For instance, who on Earth are any of the New Artist of the Year nominees? And why are the Stills, a nine-year-old band with three full-lengths to their name, nominated for New Group of the Year? Plus, there's the fact that Celine Dion and Nickelback are both treated like royalty even though they're far removed from the Canadian music industry.

The 2009 Junos will be held in Vancouver on March 29. For a second year in a row, the show will be hosted by comedian Russell Peters.

For a full list of the categories and nominations, click here.

JUNO Fan Choice Award (Presented by Pepsi)
Celine Dion
The Lost Fingers

Single of the Year
Celine Dion "Taking Chances"
Divine Brown "Lay It On the Line"
Kardinal Offishall "Dangerous"
Michael Bublé "Lost"
Nickelback "Gotta Be Somebody"

Artist of the Year
Bryan Adams
City and Colour
k.d. lang
Sam Roberts
Serena Ryder

Group of the Year
Great Big Sea
Simple Plan
The Trews
Tokyo Police Club

New Artist of the Year
Crystal Shawanda
Jessie Farrell
Kreesha Turner
Nikki Yanofsky

New Group of the Year
Cancer Bats
Crystal Castles
Plants and Animals
The Stills

Songwriter of the Year
Alanis Morissette
City and Colour
Gordie Sampson
The Midway State

Adult Alternative Album of the Year
Hawksley Workman Between the Beautifuls
Kathleen Edwards Asking For Flowers
Ron Sexsmith Exit Strategy Of The Soul
Sarah Slean The Baroness
Serena Ryder is it ok

Alternative Album of the Year
Black Mountain In The Future
Chad VanGaalen Soft Airplane
Fucked Up The Chemistry Of Common Life
Plants and Animals Parc Avenue
The Stills Oceans Will Rise

Rap Recording of the Year
DL Incognito A Captured Moment In Time
D-Sisive The Book
Famous I Rap Now
Kardinal Offishall Not 4 Sale
Point Blank Point Blank