'Minecraft' Soundtrack Gets Vinyl Release

'Minecraft' Soundtrack Gets Vinyl Release
Working under the name C418, German composer Daniel Rosenfeld is responsible for the soundtrack of the Minecraft videogame. Considering the game's enormous popularity and reach, chances are you've already noticed his music. Either way, it'll get the stand-alone appreciation it deserves when it's issued on vinyl later this summer.

Ghostly International has announced plans to release Minecraft Volume Alpha, the first in a two-part series of Minecraft soundtrack releases from Rosenfeld. 

The release will be available on vinyl and CD. There's a limited-to-1,000 pressing available on transparent green vinyl, as well as a standard black vinyl edition.

If you're not a huge fan of Minecraft or you've never played it, Ghostly notes that "this isn't a record meant solely for lifelong gamers and MineCon diehards; anyone in love with ambient, neo-classical, or minimal music needs to hear Volume Alpha."

Minecraft Volume Alpha will be released on August 21 and can be pre-ordered here. Four songs from the album can be previewed below.

Minecraft Volume Alpha OST:

1. Subwoofer Lullaby
2. Living Mice
3. Moog City
4. Haggstrom
5. Minecraft
6. Clark
7. Mice on Venus
8. Dry Hands
9. Wet Hands
10. Sweden
11. Cat
12. Danny