​These Were the Most Popular Canadians on Twitter in 2017

​These Were the Most Popular Canadians on Twitter in 2017

This year was pretty much a #dumpsterfire across the board, but it seems like some people managed to find solace on Twitter by cyber-stalking a number of Canadian celebrities from the entertainment world. The social media giant has just unveiled its year-end data, revealing exactly which Canucks were the most talked about in the Twitterverse.
 
Canadian pop stars had a good year (or at least a conversation-starting one), with Justin Bieber, Shawn Mendes and Sebastian Olzanski topping the list of most-mentioned Canadian musicians. The Weeknd, Drake, Alessia Cara, PARTYNEXTDOOR, Celine Dion, Daniel Caesar and Shania Twain rounded out the Top 10.
 
As for the most buzzed-about duos and groups, Tegan and Sara, Nickelback, and Arcade Fire took the top three spots. The Tragically Hip, Simple Plan, Majid Jordan, Zeds Dead, Arkells, Marianas Trench and Hedley were the next most-mentioned acts who hail from Canada.
 
There were also plenty of screen stars that stirred up tweetstorms, including No. 1 most-mentioned Canadian actor Seth Rogen. The runners-up include Ryan Reynolds, Shay Mitchell, Stephen Armell, Nina Dobrev, Tara Strong, Grant Gust, Stana Katic, Tatianna Maslany and Nathan Fillion.
 
The Cancon shows that generated the most Twitter talk via hashtags, meanwhile, were Orphan Black, Schitt's Creek, Letterkenny, Alias Grace and Kim's Convenience.
 
When it came to gaining actual followers, the Biebs finally surpassed the 100 million follower mark (an accolade previously only achieved by Katy Perry). Shawn Mendes hit the 10 million milestone, Seth Rogen and the Weeknd each hit five million, and Arcade Fire and PARTYNEXTDOOR each reached the one million follower mark.
 
See full lists of the aforementioned stats down below, and check out Twitter's data report in its entirety over here.
 
Top 10 Most-mentioned Canadian Musician Accounts (Solo Artists):
 
1. Justin Bieber (@JustinBieber)
2. Shawn Mendes (@ShawnMendes)
3. Sebastian Olzanski (@sebtsb)
4. The Weeknd (@TheWeeknd)
5. Drake (@drake)
6. Alessia Cara (@alessiacara)
7. PARTYNEXTDOOR (@partynextdoor)
8. Celine Dion (@celinedion)
9. Daniel Caesar (@DanielCaesar)
10. Shania Twain (@shaniatwain)
 
Top 10 Most-mentioned Canadian Musician Accounts (Duos or Groups):

 
1. Tegan and Sara (@teganandsara)
2. Nickelback (@nickelback)
3. The Arcade Fire (@arcadefire)
4. The Tragically Hip (@thehipdotcom)
5. Simple Plan (@simpleplan)
6. Majid Jordan (@majidjordan)
7. Zeds Dead (@zedsdead)
8. Arkells (@arkellsmusic)
9. Marianas Trench (@mtrench)
10. Hedley (@hedleyonline)
 
Top 5 Most-mentioned Canadian Television Hashtags (Scripted Programs):
 
1. #OrphanBlack - Orphan Black
2. #SchittsCreek - Schitt's Creek
3. #Letterkenny - Letterkenny
4. #AliasGrace - Alias Grace
5. #KimsConvenience - Kim's Convenience
 
Top 10 Most-mentioned Canadian Actors:
 
1. Seth Rogen (@Sethrogen)
2. Ryan Reynolds (@VanCityReynolds)
3. Shay Mitchell (@shaymitch)
4. Stephen Armell (@StephenAmell)
5. Nina Dobrev (@ninadobrev)
6. Tara Strong (@TaraStrong)
7. Grant Gust (@GrantGust)
8. Stana Katic (@Stana_Katic)
9. Tatianna Maslany (@tatianamaslany)
10. Nathan Fillion (@nathanfillion)