Soul Clap

EFUNK The Album

> > Apr 17 2012

Soul Clap - EFUNK The Album
By Sarah FergusonSoul Clap lay down some of the richest Boston, vocal-rich house on this record. Weaving together delicious beats and uplifting messages, the duo of Elyte and Cnyce have a creative edge in funky house through initiative, intuition and training in mixing, programming and knowledge. The record begins slowly with jazzed-up piano and saxophone behind odd-sounding vocals proclaiming, "everybody's freaky under nature's kingdom." On "Take It Slow," well-tuned soul sounds team with electronic rhythms and groove-filled vocals from Franceska. Soul Clap's music glides with percussive variation and depth. "Let's Groove On" features the lyrics of Jules Born. A sly recreation of Infectious track "I Need Your Lovin (Like the Sunshine)" brings back memories on "Need Your Lovin'," with Mel Blatt singing, sounding slower and more analog than the original 1993 track. The album closes in the air of improvisation with the two-part "Islands in Space."
(Wolf + Lamb)
Dance & Electronic RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
Be the first to comment
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.


Most Popular Stories

  1. Hey Rosetta! - 'Second Sight' (album stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: Hey Rosetta! 'Second Sight' (album stream)
  2. Die Mannequin - 'Neon Zero' (album stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: Die Mannequin 'Neon Zero' (album stream)
  3. Record Store Day Reveals Full List of 2014 Black Friday ExclusivesNEWS: Record Store Day Reveals Full List of 2014 Black Friday Exclusives

Latest Issue: Oct 14 Issue