Sunn O))) and Boris Members Team Up as Ensemble Pearl for New Album

> Dec 18 2012

Sunn O))) and Boris Members Team Up as Ensemble Pearl for New Album
By Gregory AdamsBack in 2006, stoner doomsmiths Sunn O))) and Japanese psych titans Boris delivered their tag team effort Altar, and some of the members have now got together for another effort as the cosmic rock supergroup Ensemble Pearl.

A press release from Drag City explains that the label will deliver the combo's self-titled debut March 19. The troupe is led by Sunn O)))'s Stephen O'Malley, and also features Boris drummer Atsuo, Ghost/Boris' Michio Kurihara and William Herzog. The six-song double-LP also gets some help from experimental composer Eyvind Kang and Secret Chiefs 3's Timba Harris. Ensemble Pearl was tracked by Masato Suzuki, mixed by Randall Dunn and mastered by Bob Weston.

Sound samples have yet to arrive for the platter, but the recordings have been described as "cosmic heavy amplified rock," and apparently references Link Wray, Hex-era Earth and Tangerine Dream. It should be noted that the last three tracks hover between the 10- to 20-minute mark, so we could be in store for some epic soundscaping.

Ensemble Pearl:

1. Ghost Parade 
2. Painting on a Corpse 
3. Wray 
4. Island Epiphany 
5. Giant 
6. Sexy Angle
News RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
Be the first to comment
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.

More News

Most Popular Stories

  1. Courage My Love - MUSIC / VIDEO: Courage My Love "Asleep" (the Smiths cover) on Exclaim! TV
  2. Neil Young - 'Storytone' (album stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: Neil Young 'Storytone' (album stream)
  3. U.S. Study Reveals the 'Musicthatmakesyoudumb'NEWS: U.S. Study Reveals the 'Musicthatmakesyoudumb'