Smashing Pumpkins Reveal Deluxe Reissue of 'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'

> Oct 01 2012

Smashing Pumpkins Reveal Deluxe Reissue of 'Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness'
By Josiah HughesWhile the current lineup of the Smashing Pumpkins is good at letting fans down with, say, cancelled shows and new music, there's nothing they can do to ruin the glory days. That's why we're happy to report the band will roll out a deluxe reissue of their double-album epic, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness.

The re-release follows last year's Gish and Siamese Dream reissues and this year's Pisces Iscariot with another mouth-watering set of previously unreleased recordings and other bonuses in various formats.

According to an Amazon listing unearthed by Antiquiet, the Mellon Collie reissue will be available as five-disc CD and DVD box set, a four-LP vinyl box set, a double-CD edition and a deluxe download. The deluxe CD box includes 64 bonus tracks of either unreleased or alternate material from the album's era. There's also video footage of a live show filmed at London's Brixton Academy in 1996.

The deluxe box also includes reimagined cover art, a velvet-lined disc holder, and two books of expanded liner notes. There's also a Decoupage kit to create your own scenes from the album art.

Even if you don't spring for the biggest package, the product description explains that all of the tracks "have been painstakingly remastered for the first time from the original master tapes by Bob Ludwig."

The Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness reissue will reportedly be available on December 4.

UPDATE: You can now see the tracklist below.

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness:

Dawn To Dusk (CD1):

1. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness

2. Tonight, Tonight

3. Jellybelly

4. Zero

5. Here Is No Why

6. Bullet With Butterfly Wings

7. To Forgive

8. An Ode To No One

9. Love

10. Cupid De Locke

11. Galapogos

12. Muzzle

13. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans

14. Take Me Down

Twilight To Starlight (CD2):

1. Where Boys Fear To Tread

2. Bodies

3. Thirty-Three

4. In The Arms Of Sleep

5. 1979

6. Tales Of A Scorched Earth

7. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby

8. Stumbleine

9. X.Y.U.

10. We Only Come Out At Night

11. Beautiful

12. Lily (My One And Only)

13. By Starlight

14. Farewell And Goodnight

Morning Tea (CD3):

1. Tonight, Tonight (Strings Alone mix)

2. Methusela (Sadlands demo)

3. X.Y.U. (Take 11)

4. Zero (Synth mix)

5. Feelium (Sadlands demo)

6. Autumn Nocturne (Sadlands demo)

7. Beautiful (Loop version)

8. Ugly (Sadlands demo)

9. Ascending Guitars (Sadlands demo)

10. By Starlight (Flood rough)

11. Medellia Of The Gray Skies (Take 1)

12. Lover (Arrangement 1 demo)

13. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Take 7)

14. In The Arms Of Sleep (Early Live demo)

15. Lily (My One And Only) (Sadlands demo)

16. 1979 (Sadlands demo)

17. Glamey Glamey (Sadlands demo)

18. Meladori Magpie

19. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Home Piano version)

20. Galapagos (Instrumental/Sadlands demo)

21. To Forgive (Sadlands demo)

High Tea (CD4):

1. Bullet With Butterfly Wings (Sadlands demo)

2. Set The Ray To Jerry (Vocal Rough)

3. Thirty-Three (Sadlands demo)

4. Cupid De Locke (BT 2012 mix)

5. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans (Live Studio rough)

6. Jellybelly (Instrumental/Pit mix 3)

7. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)

8. Jupiter's Lament (Barbershop version)

9. Bagpipes Drone (Sadlands demo)

10. Tonight, Tonight (Band Version Only, No Strings)

11. Knuckles (Studio outtake)

12. Pennies

13. Here Is No Why (Pumpkinland demo)

14. Blast (Fuzz version)

15. Towers Of Rabble (Live)

16. Rotten Apples

17. Fun Time (Sadlands demo)

18. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Acoustic version)

19. Chinoise (Sadlands demo)

20. Speed

Special Tea (CD 5):

1. Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness (Nighttime version 1)

2. Galapagos (Sadlands demo)

3. Cherry (BT 2012 mix)

4. Love (Flood rough)

5. New Waver (Sadlands demo)

6. Fuck You (an ode to no one) (Production Master rough)

7. Isolation (BT 2012 mix)

8. Transformer (Early mix)

9. Dizzle (Sadlands demo)

10. Goodnight (Basic Vocal rough)

11. Eye (Soundworks demo)

12. Blank (Sadlands demo)

13. Beautiful (Instrumental-Middle 8)

14. My Blue Heaven (BT 2012 mix)

15. One And Two

16. Zoom (7 ips)

17. Pastichio Medley (Reversed extras)

18. Marquis In Spades (BT 2012 mix)

19. Tales Of A Scorched Earth (Guitar Overdub mix)

20. Tonite Reprise (Version 1)

21. Wishing You Were Real (Home demo)

22. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby (Pit mix 3)

23. Phang (Sadlands demo)

DVD (Live at Brixton academy, London, 5/15/96):

1. Tonight, Tonight

2. 1979

3. Zero

4. Here Is No Why

5. Thru the Eyes of Ruby

6. Porcelina of the Vast Oceans

7. Jellybelly

8. Silverfuck

9. Disarm

10. Bullet with Butterfly Wings
Live at Rockpalast, 4/7/96

11. Fuck You (An Ode To No One)

12. Muzzle

13. Cherub Rock

14. X.Y.U.

News RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
How did they let fans down with new music when most of their fans and critics like the new album? The link that was provided even directed to a GOOD review of it by Exclaim! Sounds like the writer of this article has a bit of sand in his vagina (and ears) that needs to be cleaned out.
Start Conversation
Thanks for pointing this out so that I didn't have to, Burnt Toast! This is obviously a personal vendetta against the band by one writer using personal opinion in place of journalism.
Start Conversation
Jeeze guys, cry me a river. The album ain't great and isn't a spot on their first few.
Start Conversation
It's vendetta time! Hahaha. Get a life losers. There was an opportunity for a gag (a good one I might add), and the opportunity was taken. Stop your chin stroking and learn to smile.
Start Conversation
The day we stop being able to have a good laugh at Billy Corgan is the day we stop living
Start Conversation
If the Pumpkins are so great and adored, why are they being forced to sell tickets for their current tour on Groupon for half price? And cancelling some shows as well.
Start Conversation
I like the new pumpkins album. Music critics have always cut down the pumpkins.
Start Conversation
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.

More News

Most Popular Stories

  1. The Black Dahlia Murder - 'Grind 'Em All' (EP stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: The Black Dahlia Murder 'Grind 'Em All' (EP stream)
  2. Jian Ghomeshi Drops $55 Million Lawsuit Against CBCNEWS: Jian Ghomeshi Drops $55 Million Lawsuit Against CBC
  3. The Dying Arts - MUSIC / VIDEO: The Dying Arts "Bed Spins" (video)