Kylesa Uncover Rarities for 'From the Vaults, Vol. 1'

> Aug 28 2012

Kylesa Uncover Rarities for 'From the Vaults, Vol. 1'
By Gregory AdamsThere's still no official word on when deceptively melodic crust experimenters Kylesa will deliver a follow-up to their swirly and punishing 2010 platter Spiral Shadow, but the group will at least uncover some rarities for the upcoming From the Vaults, Vol. 1.

A press release for the compilation, which arrives November 20 through Seasons of Mist, explains that the 12 songs that fill the tracklist are a mixture of covers, alternate takes and a brand new song called "End Truth," all assembled as one convenient package. The band have apparently been working on compiling the project for a while now, and considering the Vol. 1 tag at the end of the album title, it appears the group have more goodies in store.

"This project has been a labour of love," guitarist-vocalist Phillip Cope said in a statement. "We have spent over a year going through old songs, covers, etc. and collected those we felt went well together; remixing and finishing them up. We didn't want to release something just thrown together so we put a lot of thought and time into it. I am really happy about how this came together. I think it is a good representation of Kylesa's different styles from early on to present day."

Diehard fans will also be glad to know that beyond this stop-gap release, Kylesa are currently preparing to hit the studio to record the follow-up to Spiral Shadow. Not much else is known about the impending LP, but it's expected to drop sometime in 2013.

In the meantime, check out Kylesa's gloom-and-doom take on Pink Floyd's "Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun" in the player down below.

From The Vaults, Vol. 1:

1. Intro  **

2. Inverse  **

3. 111 Degree Heat Index ***

4. Between Silence and Sound II ***

5. Paranoid Tempo  **

6. End Truth *

7. Bottom Line II ***

8. Wavering **

9. Bass Salts **

10. Drained **

11. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun **

12. Drum Jam **

* New

** Previously unreleased/limited availability

*** Alternate Version

News RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
Be the first to comment
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.

More News

Most Popular Stories

  1. U.S. Study Reveals the 'Musicthatmakesyoudumb'NEWS: U.S. Study Reveals the 'Musicthatmakesyoudumb'
  2. Courage My Love - MUSIC / VIDEO: Courage My Love "Asleep" (the Smiths cover) on Exclaim! TV
  3. Hey Rosetta! - 'Second Sight' (album stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: Hey Rosetta! 'Second Sight' (album stream)