Kae Sun Returns with 'Afriyie,' Unveils New Single

> Apr 23 2013

Kae Sun Returns with 'Afriyie,' Unveils New Single
By Gregory AdamsIt's been four years since Kae Sun (aka Kwaku Darko-Mensah Jr.) delivered his debut LP Lion on a Leash, but the release of the singer-songwriter's sophomore set is just around the corner. Titled Afriyie, it drops May 28 through Urbnet.

A press release explains that the 10-song set further develops Sun's sound, which mixes elements of folk, soul and reggae with the artist's "insightful and inspired poetry."

"I've settled into a sound and vocal delivery that feels very true to me," Sun said in a statement of his current work. Influences on the LP are said to include Sam Cooke, Lauryn Hill, Bob Dylan, Bob Marley, Dennis Brown and Ben Harper.

While Sun teased the release last fall with first single "Ship and the Globe," he's now offering up a second sneak peek with a video for the LP's change-striving pop-rock anthem "When the Pot," which you can stream down below.

Tour dates behind Afriyie are apparently in the works, but details on the trip have yet to be delivered. Sun will, however, play the CBC Music Festival at Toronto's Echo Beach on May 25 alongside Of Monsters and Men, Kathleen Edwards, the Sam Roberts Band and more.


1. Blackstar Rising
2. Heart Healing Pulse
3. Lion Unleashed
4. Burden of Love

5. Ship And The Globe
6. Dzorwulu Junction
7. Lead Loaded Letters
8. When The Pot
9. Weh-Weh
10. Stillness

News RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
Start Conversation
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.

More News

Most Popular Stories

  1. The Once - MUSIC / VIDEO: The Once "We Are All Running" (video)
  2. The Black Dahlia Murder - 'Grind 'Em All' (EP stream)MUSIC / VIDEO: The Black Dahlia Murder 'Grind 'Em All' (EP stream)
  3. Smashing Pumpkins Selling NEWS: Smashing Pumpkins Selling "Fuck You Anderson Cooper" Shirts