Deafheaven Unveil 'Sunbather'

> Apr 03 2013

Deafheaven Unveil 'Sunbather'
By Gregory AdamsComing off last year's Exclaim!-approved split 7-inch with Bosse-de-Nage, experimental San Francisco black metal/post-rock combo Deafheaven have announced their next LP. Titled Sunbather, it arrives June 11 via Deathwish Inc. 

A press release notes that the seven-song sophomore effort, which follows 2011's Road to Judah, was tracked with Jack Shirley (Funeral Diner, Comadre) and apparently "deals with the profound sadness found in the quest for one's personal perfection." A lineup tweak for the LP now has the tortured screams of George Clarke and Kerry McCoy's layered guitar beds joined by percussionist Daniel Tracy.

Teaser material has not yet been delivered, but opener "Dream House" is described as a hypnotic "wash of post-everything melody," instrumental track "Irresistible" features some piano work, and the back-half of the set is said to be quite bleak.

While Deafheaven have no plans to tour Canada at present, they will be making their way around Europe and the U.S. between April and May. You can see the details over here.


1. Dream House
2. Irresistible
3. Sunbather
4. Please Remember
5. Vertigo
6. Windows
7. The Pecan Tree

News RSS
Mailing List
Google Bookmarks
Be the first to comment
Keep me logged in
Prove You Are Not a Robot
To remove this step go back and login.

More News

Most Popular Stories

  1. Earl Sweatshirt Accuses Taylor Swift of NEWS: Earl Sweatshirt Accuses Taylor Swift of "Perpetuating Black Stereotypes" in New Video
  2. Gob Respond to Accusations They Stole Artwork for 'Apt. 13'NEWS: Gob Respond to Accusations They Stole Artwork for 'Apt. 13'
  3. The Smalls Expand Reunion TourNEWS: The Smalls Expand Reunion Tour