The Weeknd's 'Echoes of Silence' Rumoured to Arrive Today as Album Cover and Tracklist Emerge

The Weeknd's 'Echoes of Silence' Rumoured to Arrive Today as Album Cover and Tracklist Emerge
Toronto's the Weeknd generated a massive buzz in 2011, as his digital albums House of Balloons and Thursday earned the R&B crooner critical adoration, a Polaris Music Prize nomination, an Exclaim! cover story, and the title of our top soul and R&B album of the year. Now, it looks as if the man also known as Abel Tesfaye is getting ready to cap off his year by dropping the third instalment in his mixtape trilogy.

Entitled Echoes of Silence, sources have previously confirmed that it is slated to arrive in "fall 2011." Rumours have been swirling across the blogosphere that the album will arrive today (December 21), which would make sense given that this is technically the last day of fall (the season changes at 12:30 a.m. tonight).

UPDATE: As suspected, Echoes of Silence has arrived and you can now download it at the Weeknd's website. It turns out the album art and tracklist originally posted here were fakes, but you can now find the official versions of both above and below.

Seemingly confirming these rumours is the fact that an album cover emerged online today as well. As you can see above, it looks fairly similar to the House of Balloons and Thursday covers, with a retro-looking title above an image of balloons. This picture now serves at the Weeknd's Twitter profile image.

Check on the rumoured tracklist below, which contains plenty of evocative and mysterious song titles (we can't wait to hear "Witches and Panthers"). Be sure to keep your eyes peeled, since this one could drop at any moment.

Echoes of Silence:

1. "D.D."
2. "Montreal"
3. "Outside"
4. "XO/The Host"
5. "Initiation"
6. "Same Old Song"
7. "The Fall"
8. "Next"
9. "Echoes of Silence"

Get It

Related Articles