Bob Dylan Revisits the Polarizing 'Self Portrait' for 'Bootleg Series' Release

Bob Dylan Revisits the Polarizing \'Self Portrait\' for \'Bootleg Series\' Release
Self Portrait isn't Bob Dylan's most beloved album by a long short — in fact, it might be his most universally unpopular — but that isn't stopping him from revisiting the 1970 record with the latest instalment in his Bootleg Series. On August 27, Columbia Records will release The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971).

Self Portrait consisted on covers and live cuts, and there has been frequent speculation that Dylan intended the album to tank. This new collection features material drawn from the same era, along with outtakes from 1969's Nashville Skyline and 1970's New Morning. There are a couple of songs from a one-day session in 1970 with George Harrison, along with a slew of demos, alternate versions, unreleased cuts, and original versions without overdubs.

All this appears on the standard two-disc edition. The deluxe four-disc edition, meanwhile, comes with Dylan and the Band's full set from the Isle of Wight in 1969, plus a remastered version of the original Self Portrait album. There are also two hardcover books.

See the tracklist below, and scroll past that to see a video trailer.

The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 - Another Self Portrait (1969-1971):

CD 1:

1. Went to See the Gypsy (demo)

2. In Search of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

3. Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)

4. Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)

5. Spanish Is the Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)

6. Annie's Going to Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)

7. Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)

8. Only a Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)

9. Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)

10. I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)

11. Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)

12. Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)

14. These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)

15. Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

16. House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)

17. All the Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

CD 2:

1. If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)

2. Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)

3. Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)

4. Days of '49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)

5. Working on a Guru (unreleased, New Morning)

6. Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)

7. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)

8. Highway 61 Revisited (Live With the Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)

9. Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

10. Bring Me a Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)

11. Sign on the Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)

12. Tattle O'Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)

13. If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)

14. New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)

15. Went to See the Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)

16. Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

17. Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)

18. When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

Bob Dylan & the Band at Isle of Wight - August 31st, 1969:

1. She Belongs to Me

2. I Threw It All Away

3. Maggie's Farm

4. Wild Mountain Thyme

5. It Ain't Me, Babe

6. To Ramona/Mr. Tambourine Man

7. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine

8. Lay Lady Lay

9. Highway 61 Revisited

10. One Too Many Mornings

11. I Pity the Poor Immigrant

12. Like a Rolling Stone

13. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight

14. Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)

15. Minstrel Boy

16. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

Get It